The Chianti Colli Fiorentini covers the hilly area around Florence, embracing the city from South-West to South-East (from Montelupo Fiorentino up to Fiesole, passing through Lastra a Signa, Scandicci, Impruneta, Bagno a Ripoli and Rignano sull´Arno, Pontassieve), with three offshoots which descend to the South and which include: the municipalities of part of Montespertoli, San Casciano Val di Pesa, Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, up to Certaldo and Barberino Val d´Elsa to the West; Incisa and Figline Val d´Arno to the far East; and a narrow strip of land from Pelago to Reggello to the extreme East, respectively.

The territory of the Chianti Colli Fiorentini is a succession of hills and valleys with height varying between 150 and 400 m a.s.l., the exposure of the hillsides is of great importance in determining local and farm microclimates. The exposures from South-East to South-West involve more than half of the territory; the Eastern and Western exposures concern about 30% of the surface. The remaining part faces the North. In Chianti Colli Fiorentini there are different types of soils with different origins which thus produced soils with different characteristics, and the climate is temperate with medium rains sufficient to sustain good quality viticulture.

Download the information regarding the soil and climate of Chianti